Presidential Coins

Shop All Presidential Coins

Presidential Dollar Coins Value

Honor America's historical presidents with our selection of Presidential dollar coins for sale at Bullion Shark! The United States Mint issued $1 coins featuring U.S. president portraits in the order that they served. The program began in 2007 featuring Washington, Adams, Jefferson, and Madison.

Worth mentioning, that in December 2011, the United States Mint suspended minting and issuing circulating Presidential $1 Coins directed by Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner. Regular circulating demand for the coins will be met through the Federal Reserve Bank’s existing inventory of circulating coins minted prior to 2012.

The Presidential $1 Coin Act (Public Law 109-145) seeks to revitalize the design of United States coins and return circulating coinage to its position as an object of aesthetic beauty in its own right. Accordingly, the Presidential $1 Coins feature larger, more dramatic artwork, as well as edge-incused inscriptions of the year of minting or issuance, “E PLURIBUS UNUM,” and the mint mark.

From 2007 to 2016, the Mint issued four Presidential $1 Coins per year, each with a common reverse design featuring a striking rendition of the Statue of Liberty. The composition of the Presidential $1 Coins is identical to that of the Sacagawea Golden Dollar and the Native American $1 Coins.

Recently Issued Presidential $1 Coins

Presidential $1 Coins

In the order they served as president.

  1. George Washington (1789-1797)

  2. John Adams (1797-1801)

  3. Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809)

  4. James Madison (1809-1817)

  5. James Monroe (1817-1825)

  6. John Quincy Adams (1825-1829)

  7. Andrew Jackson (1829-1837)

  8. Martin Van Buren (1837-1841)

  9. William Henry Harrison (1841)

  10. John Tyler (1841-1845)

  11. James K. Polk (1845-1849)

  12. Zachary Taylor (1849-1850)

  13. Millard Fillmore (1850-1853)

  14. Franklin Pierce (1853-1857)

  15. James Buchanan (1857-1861)

  16. Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)

  17. Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)

  18. Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877)

  19. Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)

  20. James Garfield (1881)

  21. Chester A. Arthur (1881-1885)

  22. Grover Cleveland (1st term)(1885-1889)

  23. Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)

  24. Grover Cleveland (2nd term)(1893-1897)

  25. William McKinley (1897-1901)

  26. Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)

  27. William Howard Taft (1909-1913)

  28. Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)

  29. Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)

  30. Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)

  31. Herbert Hoover (1929-1933)

  32. Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945)

  33. Harry S. Truman (1945-1953)

  34. Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)

  35. John F. Kennedy (1961-1963)

  36. Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969)

  37. Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)

  38. Gerald Ford (1974-1977)


  40. Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)

  41. George H.W. Bush (1989-1993)

More About Presidential Coins

These Presidential coins are gold in color, made with a copper center and a brass outer layer. They are a bit bigger than a quarter. Each coin shows a president on the front. On the back, there's a big picture of the Statue of Liberty. This series was the first to have writing on the edge of the coin, something not done since the gold coins from 1907-1933.

Even though these Presidential dollar coins weren't used a lot in everyday shopping, coin collectors really like them. Collecting all of these coins is a popular and not too expensive goal. The First Spouse Coins go well with these Presidential coins, making the collection even nicer.


Presidential coins FAQs

Presidential coins worth anywhere from a couple of dollars to a couple of hundred dollars. Presidential dollar coins value depends on the condition and rarity of the coin. These coins are minted to honor of the US presidents and carry a legacy that transcends their face value.
The US Mint Presidential dollar coins program began with the George Washington Presidential dollar and was set to end with the Ronald Reagan dollar in 2016. However, the successful american coin program resumed in 2020 honoring George H. W. Bush.